Keep on Swimming

I love to swim, I always have.

All I remember from childhood holidays was the swimming pools and water parks. Being the youngest of 3 sisters by a good few years meant I usually didn’t have anyone my age to play with on holiday so I spent most of the time in the swimming pools, usually underwater. I also used to get lots of ear infections – hooray for ear plugs!

I used to go to swimming lessons twice a week at swimming clubs at the local swimming pool, but never swam competitively (until recently) so went into lifesaving and kind of gave up the swimming for a while. There were times when i believed you did not need to be able to swim more than a length or 2 to be a life guard, which is still probably true but also scary! This was also a time when my weight crept up and up and therefore the idea of swimming was not so nice.

Then I joined my local swimming club, but the Masters and haven’t looked back since. I love the Wootton Bassett Otters as they have made swimming fun again for me and I really improved for a good few years. I even took part in master competitions and open water races – all in the name of fun of course.
Until I hurt my shoulder…

This last year swimming has been a struggle. I’ve been through periods of swimming through the pain, not swimming at all, swimming with find, swimming slowly, being frustrated, being too busy to swim and wanting to give it all up! I’ve been seeing a sports therapist for almost the whole time and that has really improved it but it is not the same and I struggle to believe it ever will be (pessimistic I know). But we’ve been trying a number of different things and I now know it is not just physical, but also it’s partly psychological. It is a lot more uncomfortable when I’m stressed and at work, but when I was on holiday I had no problems. So there is more going on than I am admitting here and probably to myself and I’m sure I’ll talk about this more in the future, but not right now.

But after having about a month of being too busy to go swimming I cannot wait to get back in the pool. I know I will not be able to swim my old normal distance and that my fitness has been lacking and that I’ve put on a noticeable amount of weight, but I want to get back into it.

I love swimming. I find it relaxing, yet challenging. I love the feeling of gliding through the water and working hard to reach each end. I love trying to keep up with those in my lane. I love knowing I’ve swam well and accomplished a good distance in our sessions.

I don’t love the 8am weekend starts so much anymore, but you can’t love everything!

We recently had to move pools as ours went up in flames in December. It was so sad to leave Lime Kiln as I have been swimming there forever, but I have to admit the new pool is amazing – the Jacuzzi right next to the pool plays a big part!
Also I signed up to the Bournemouth Pier to Pier Swim in July so need to get some fitness back up. It’s a 1.4 mile swim from Bournemouth Pier to Boscombe Pier and I’ve already raised £185 for the British Heart Foundation, which is 185% of my target, so I really cannot let anyone you sponsored me down!

I’ve re-sorted my swimming bag out and am ready to go…

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

