The Biggest Adventure Of All

Life is the biggest adventure of all and I’ve been wandering aimlessly through it for some time, but lately I’ve been wanting to make sure I live my life to the full and that includes making sure I live the longest life I can by being healthy.

It is all about the journey, not the destination!

I would just like to say this doesn’t mean this is a health or weight loss or fitness blog, it is all part of my adventures through life and this happens to be very close to my heart at the current time.

I’ve not always been the healthiest of people. For a long time I was very overweight (now I’m just overweight) and didn’t care, or sometimes I don’t think I knew I was so overweight. I was never bullied about my weight, but I knew I was bigger than all my friends, but I just got on with it.

ANGIES GRADUATION JULY 06 005

(Me back in 2006 at my first Graduation – I hate looking at these photos!)

In 2007 I joined WeightWatchers and lost a lot of weight, but looking back I think I lost it too quickly as I started to put weight back on as soon as I stopped following the plan strictly. I feel this shows I hadn’t actually learn anything about anything. I am just very good at following instructions, but I get bored after a while. Also I found that the Leader you have makes such a difference. I went to a few difference classes while I lost the majority of my weight and I only loved 2 of the leaders. I really clicked with them, whereas others I just didn’t.

Angie CPC1

(Me in 2008 after losing 5 stone on WW)

I have never known much about nutrition and healthy lifestyles and always just assumed that how you were brought up was the right way. In the last few years and more so in the last 6 months I’ve started to question my ingrained beliefs and have begun to think for myself about health and lifestyle. It’s quite overwhelming with the amount of information out there on this.

I had no idea what I was looking for other than a desire to be healthy. I have taken time to learn that is not all about eating the right things and about being active, but also about having a healthy mental state.

So I quit and re-joined WeightWatchers a few times over the past couple of years but it was never the same as that first time. I also set myself some fitness goals, like trekking the Inca Trail in Peru and Kilimanjaro and even got a personal trainer for a few months. But every-time something finished I went back to old habits. I think this is because I never understood what I was doing, I just knew I wanted to.

So I started reading…

First I read through lots of my favourite blogs and looks back for old posts about nutrition, fitness and things like motivation and struggles. This helped a lot as it put things into real life for me. Often we feel alone when we have a problem, but the Internet and the blog world have opened this up and no one has to feel alone when dealing with anything.

The first blog and also book I read I’m about to write about in ‘The Blogs I Love’ series called The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl. This was my entry into the blogging world and I have since found a collection of blogs I read regularly and they provide helpful links to others sites, which I keep on Google Reader. I will start to emulate them in time and to to what they did for me by providing links to posts I found useful and interesting.

I then moved onto the local library and read Nutrition For Dummies and
Fitness For Dummies first. This gave me access to new vocabulary I would not have understood if I’d just goggled the topics. I then read Jillian Michaels Master Your Metabolism and loved it. I found this a great way for me to start to understand how the body uses food.

I’m currently going to an evening course on Changing Your Lifestyle and Managing Your Weight and have been finding it really interesting. It s more about the physiological side of making changes and sticking to them. Also thanks to Mary over at A Merry Life I am also currently reading When Food Is Love and am finding it really interesting.

I’m definitely still learning and that is what keeps me interested. There are new developments in these areas all the time and it can get confusing, but reading about things has opened up my mind to a world of possibilities. I would recommend looking at the references for everything you read to ensure you get the as much of the story as possible, not just the highlights.

For me healthy living is all about balance. I want to move away from the ‘all or nothing’ mode of thinking, which I tend to slip into very easily. My relationship with food is difficult and it is something I am working on and would like to share more about in the future.

This blog post has made me think about why I love the quote ‘not all those who wander are lost’ from Lord of the Rings, because it is all about the journey and healthy living for me is a big part of my journey.

IMG_0488

(Me  Now!)

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

