Canada Update

Vancouver Image from cravecanada.com

I’ve got a few general goals I want to work on before heading to Canada:

  • Lose weight – not going to set a specific goal on this I just want my clothes to fit again
  • Exercise 5-6 times a week
  • Work hard at eating mindfully
  • Do a lot of reading around healthy living
  • Get over some medical problems

I need to develop SMART goals. I’ll re-post on this when I have time to sit down and think about them properly. I think all of the above are SMART but I need to define them in terms of the specific SMART points.

My initial date for going to Canada is not set in stone, however I do have a date in mind.

Image from stevedo.org

It has been a bit back and forth recently and even more recently I could approach things a bit differently. This is all to do with the fact I am on a 2 year fixed term contract at work and have always said I would be flexible and keep my options open. A new option has just been presented to me and I really quite like the idea. It basically involved taking a 3 month break and then come back to the job. This might sound completely different from what I was talking about in a previous post. However I have no idea what the job market is like in Canada and if it is anything like at home it will not be easy to get any jobs, therefore I have said to myself and saved enough money to travel for 3 months while looking for work.

Therefore the break option sounds very interesting to me. There are a few ‘ifs’, the main being the extension of my contract and a few others that I can’t go into just yet, but it makes me less nervous about going as I know I will be coming back to a good job.

Then I think it is the safe option, which I suppose it is really, but I have a few unsaid reasons for wanting the safe option right now.

I have realised that I panic when new options are given to me. I spent most of yesterday unable to concentrate as had all these thought swirling round my head. Then I sat down with my parent and talked it through.

I think it is all about control. This option is out of my control and that makes me nervous. going to Canada was my decision and I was in control of when and where I go, now I am left to wait for the ‘ifs’ to be determined before a final decision can be made.

I like decisions. I’m not good and not knowing what I’m doing. I hate faffing about things that can be decided quickly and simply.

Unfortunately this is the real world and this is not one of those decisions.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

