Books vs. Kindle

It’s a bit of a technology day today 🙂

I love real books, as can be seen by the amount I have on my bookshelf:

IMG_0624

But I also love my Kindle.

I honestly never thought I would switch (not all of the time) to an e-book reader, but it was easier than I thought.

I love reading and with my Canada trip coming up and remembering the amount of book I had to send home last time, I decided to get myself a Kindle. I got it a few months ago now as I also wanted plenty of time to get used to it and gradually build up a book collection on there.

The great think about the Kindle is the amount of books it stores. I love having access to a library in my bag. I also love being able to go online and buying a book and start reading it instantly (this is probably bad for my impulse buying problem though). I also like that it is customisable with regards to font size and line spacing. I love to have as many words on the page at once so I don’t have to turn the page very often, but it is also good for when I’m a bit tired and need a larger font to read. I love that I can read it in any position I want (even upside down) and it doesn’t matter.

Also the amount of free (and cheap) books is amazing. Most of them are probably rubbish, but I’ve bought a few and enjoyed some quick holiday reads. Being able to get the classics free is great as there are loads that I’ve always wanted to try and read and when they are free I don’t mind if I do.

The down side is not having the real book in your hands. Nothing beats the smell, texture and weight of a real book. So there will always be times I will buy the real book over an electronic version. But there will also be times when I’ll buy the electronic version when I already have the real version (Lord of the Rings I’ve already got and I’m sure I’ll get Harry Potter if it comes out).

I bought a nice cover for my Kindle, but I have been starting to take it out of it and hold just the Kindle as it is lighter on it’s own.

IMG_0626

So I bought myself a Gelaskin to put on it.

Before:

IMG_0627

After:

IMG_0628IMG_0629

However this doesn’t protect the screen, so now I’m thinking I still need something to put it in. Maybe a zipped sleeve like this…

51Tm1LN89KL._SL500_AA300_

Therefore I’m not really making the switch to the Kindle exclusively. I will still buy real books, I will still borrow books from the library. But for convenience and travelling noting beats having 50 books to choose from when you are not near you bookshelf 🙂

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Hobbies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

