Suffering with Hay Fever

I struggle with hay fever throughout the summer. Mainly a stuffy nose and sneezing and it gets very annoying. Also embarrassing when you have a sneezing fit in work. I’m not sure what exactly causes my hay fever, but I have looked at the pollen calendar and now have a better idea. I’m also going to look out for the start next year so I can narrow it down even more.

So what is hay fever?
From the NHS website it says “Hay fever is a type of allergic rhinitis caused by pollen or spores. Allergic rhinitis is a condition where an allergen (something that causes an allergic reaction) makes the inside of your nose inflamed (swollen). Hay fever is a type of allergic rhinitis caused by pollen or spores. Allergic rhinitis is a condition where an allergen (something that causes an allergic reaction) makes the inside of your nose inflamed (swollen). People with hay fever can experience their symptoms at different times of the year, depending on which pollens or spores they are allergic to.”

The BBC health website says “The pollens most likely to cause problems in early spring are those from trees such as the silver birch, ash, oak and London plane. Grasses pollinate during mid-summer from May to August. The most profusely pollinating grasses are timothy, rye, cocksfoot, meadow and fescue. Occasionally, in late summer and autumn, weeds such as nettles and dock as well as mugwort and plantain can trigger hay fever.

A UK pollen calendar can e found here.

From this I’m thinking I’m a grass hay fever person. I’m suffering quite badly a the moment and have been slightly for a good month.

Through Twitter I found @KleenexHayfever who very kindly sent me one of their hay fever survival kits, which came through the post today 🙂

It includes tissues, a cooling eye mask, a nose and lip balm, a scented oil (I think), a nasal spray, a hand-held fan and a frisbee!

Everything is great and it has opened me up to some remedies I had not thought of trying. I usually stick to antihistamines and tissues.

The tissues have already come in handy as well as the nose balm. I also just tried the nasal spray and I can breathe through my nose again 🙂

I am going to use this pack and then get out at the weekend and play with the frisbee 🙂

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

